Art Holiday Travel and Vacation information for Down

"Down, a county of Ireland, in Ulster, 42 m. long and 34 broad; bounded E by the Irish sea, W by Armagh, NW by Antrim, and S by Carlingford bay and the ocean; divided into 60 parishes, and sends 4 members to parliament. It is in general fertile; has numerous bleach-greens; and in the rough parts many horses are bred. Copper and lead are found; also a black marble susceptible of a high polish, slate, coal, freestone, and crystals. Pop. 329,348. Chief rivers, Lagan and Newry."
[From The New London Gazetteer (1826)]